Friday, March 24, 2017

Fwd: Innovation In Music Conference 2017

Innovation In Music Conference 2017 06 – 08 September 2017 University of Westminster, Regent St, London, UK News:
* Talvin Singh OBE will give a special keynote talk and performance at InMusic 17
* Ken Scott confirmed as a participant on an esteemed Production Panel at InMusic 17
* Registration portal for InMusic 17 is now open
* Call for 300-500 word abstracts deadline: 31 March 2017. Other confirmed keynote speakers and panel members include:
* Imogen Heap – Grammy Award winning music artist, producer, engineer and innovator
* Peter Oxendale – Forensic musicologist and expert witness in copyright law
* Mandy Parnell – Grammy Award winning mastering engineer
* Jonathan Bailey – Chief Technical Officer of iZotope Full event details can be found at the conference website: Gold Sponsor: iZotope

=============== Call for Papers =============== Innovation in Music welcomes academics, creatives, producers, artists, industry professionals, technology developers and equipment manufacturers to come together and submit abstracts for consideration on a wide range of topics including:
* Innovative music creation and performance
* Music technology innovation
* Innovation in music business
* Music production: past, present and future Authors can choose to submit either a Full Paper or a short Abstract. Abstracts of 300 – 500 words will be reviewed for inclusion in the conference programme. After the conference, presenting authors will be given the option to prepare a Full Paper for inclusion in the conference proceedings. Authors may choose to submit a Full Paper of 6000 – 8000 words for the conference. Full Papers will be peer-reviewed by at least two referees. Papers must be of high quality, original, and not published elsewhere or submitted for publication during the review period. Abstracts and Papers should be submitted by 31 March 2017 by email to: Innovation in Music are also welcoming proposals for innovative and interactive demonstrations appropriate to the conference scope. If you are interested in being involved in any way please contact us at the following email address:

================ Conference Scope ================ Conference themes and topics include:
* Music production: past, present and future
* Performance and composition: human and beyond
* Innovation in music business
* Music consumer behaviour: the changing psychology and perceived value of music
* Technologies for remuneration and data management
* Platforms for music sale, streaming and broadcast
* Studio technology innovation
* Innovative music creation and songwriting
* Sound engineering: audio and acoustics
* Mastering commercial music
* Hi-res audio and future music formats
* Piracy in 2017 and beyond
* Post production innovation: plugins, workstations, automated mixing
* Sound design and music for video games
* Knowledge transfer between music industry and academia
* Cross-disciplinary topics around music and innovation

================ Keynote Speakers ================
2017's Keynote speakers include:
* Imogen Heap – Grammy Award winning music artist, producer, engineer and innovator
* Peter Oxendale – Forensic musicologist and expert witness in copyright law
* Mandy Parnell – Grammy Award winning mastering engineer
* Jonathan Bailey – Chief Technical Officer of iZotope Videos of the InMusic 2015 conference keynotes can be found at the Innovation In Music YouTube page: Tim Exile (Music Performance Keynote): David Wrench (Music Production Keynote): Peter Jenner (Music Industry Keynote): Mixing-Meets-Mastering Panel Discussion (featuring Mandy Parnell, Simon Gogerly, Gary Bromham, Bryan Martin, Russ Hepworth-Sawyer):
=================== Dates and Deadlines ===================
Submission of abstracts for consideration: Wednesday 31 March 2017 Authors notified if abstract accepted or rejected: Friday 14 April 2017 Programme and all accepted abstracts available on conference website: Monday 08 May 2017 Early registration – Authors expected to have registered and paid by: Friday 02 June 2017 Completed paper submission deadline for inclusion in proceedings: Monday 16 October 2017

=================== Register ===================
The early-bird discount fee is £260 per delegate registering by Friday 2 June 2017 and includes attendance at the conference banquet. From Saturday 3 June 2017, the conference attendance fee will be £295 per delegate. Registration is now open, book your place at

======== Location ========
Innovation In Music 2017 is hosted by the University of Westminster at their Regent St campus in Central London. London is at the heart of the UK and Europe's music industry, providing a thriving network of creative artists and technology innovators, as well as being the focal point of the music industry's business economy. Being hosted in London enables some of the world's most innovative individuals and organisations to engage with the conference and share discussions around innovation in music. The opening of Innovation In Music will be held in the historic and beautiful Fyvie Hall, which is part of the University of Westminster. The location for the Conference Banquet is to be confirmed, but will be held close to the Regent's Street campus in Central London. Full venue, accommodation and travel details are available at the Innovation In Music website.

=============== Conference Fees ===============
Conference attendance fees are to be confirmed and the registration portal will go live soon. Early registration fees will be in the region of £250 per delegate, which includes attendance at the conference banquet.

============ Organisation ============
General Conference Chair: Professor Rob Toulson – University of Westminster, UK Co-Chairs and Innovation In Music Steering Committee: Dennis Collopy – University of Hertfordshire, UK Russ Hepworth-Sawyer – MOTTOsound & York St John University, UK Dr Jay Hodgson – Western University, Ontario, Canada Professor Justin Paterson – London College of Music, University of West London, UK

============================ International Programme Committee ============================
Dr Liz Dobson – University of Huddersfield Dr Ruth Dockwray – University of Chester Professor Paul Ferguson – Edinburgh Napier University Sally Gross – University of Westminster Dr Simon Hall – Birmingham City University Dr Kirsten Hermes – University of Westminster Andrew Horsburgh – Southampton Solent University Dr Marion Leonard – University of Liverpool Richard Lightman – University of Kent Dr Mariana Lopez – University of York Kallie Marie – New York University Dr Mark Marrington – York St John University Bryan Martin – McGill University Dr Josh Reiss – Queen Mary University London Professor Robert Sholl – The Royal Academy Professor Darren Sproston – University of Chester Dr Nikos Stavropoulis – Leeds Beckett University Professor Catherine Tackley – University of Liverpool

=================== Further Information ===================
Please visit the conference website for regular updates and conference details as they are confirmed: You can also follow @InMusicConf on Twitter for communications and updates, as well as visit our Facebook page at: To unsubscribe or for any other enquiries please email: Please feel free to share this Call For Papers with your colleagues and networks.